Reflections on Wikipedia from Russell Targ

russell-targ-and-onyx-the-catFor many years I had a pretty well balanced biography page on Wikipedia. I am now 80 years old, and had several scientific careers. I was a pioneer in the earliest development of the laser from 1957 to 1972. I was co-founder of an ESP research program at SRI from 1972 to 1982. And I worked for 12 years with Lockheed and NASA on airborne laser wind measurements. The Wiki editors have removed all trace of my 27 years in lasers, and I cannot put back one word.

The editors, who mindlessly and passionately hate ESP, have trashed any positive aspects of our $20 million, 23 year program at SRI. Those numbers, in particular, are always removed. The negative comments are now more than three times the length of my brief bio. I cannot even mention that my wife was the sister of Bobby Fischer, former world chess champion.

As I try to repair these deletions, I have been banned from editing my bio. As I see how the editing process works at Wikipedia, I would not trust anything at all that I read there. Because of this mad prejudice, I think Wikipedia has debased itself as an information source.

Warm regards,
Russell Targ

Russell Targ is a physicist and author who was a pioneer in the development of the laser, and cofounder of the Stanford Research Institute’s investigation into psychic abilities in the 1970s and 1980s.

http://www.espresearch.com/

One response to “Reflections on Wikipedia from Russell Targ

  1. The information Russell Targ has written is wrong. He has not been banned from editing his article. Check the edit history of his article and his user page, all edits on Wikipedia are open and recorded.

    The reason his edits were removed because all of them were un-referenced. He inserted personal commentary into his article (even some personal attacks) this is against Wikipedia policy. There is a policy on Wikipedia where material that is added must be referenced to reliable source i.e. scientific journals or papers. The problem is that Targ’s work on lasers is very difficult to find reliable references for (it is not mentioned in any physics textbooks, etc). He was asked by multiple users to provide references for his claims, but every time he just added personal commentary into the article without any references. Nobody is suppressing any information. His articles that he published on lasers are mentioned on his article, the reason those papers are not mentioned in detail is because no reliable references discuss them. If Targ was honest he should retract his false claims about Wikipedia because they are now being spammed around on various paranormal websites and what he has stated is not the truth of the matter. Regards.

Leave a comment